BREAKING NEWS: Ebonyi Governor Sacks Official, Reshuffle 22 Cabinet Members


The Engr. Dr. David Nweze Umahi-led government of Ebonyi state, has sacked one of his appointees (name withheld), former Senior Special Adviser (SSA), on Special Education/King David Academy for an undisclosed reasons.

In a special public announcement Monday through the office of the Secretary to the State Government (SSG) and Coordinating Commissioner, Ugbala Kenneth Igwe, the former SSA, was asked to submit all government properties in his possession as it concerned King David Academy to the SSG/Coordinating Commissioner, before the close of work on 30th June 2020.

According to the state government, the Chief of Staff, Chief Dr. Emmanuel Offor Okorie, has been redeployed as Chairman EBBC Board while the Commissioner, Budget and Planning, Chief Mrs Chinwe Okah, is now the Commissioner for Market Development and Management.

Prof. Ogbonnaya Chukwu, who was in charge of Finance and Economic Development, would now serve as Commissioner for Commerce and Industry while his counterpart, Chief Moses Oshibe, who was in Lands and Survey, is now the Commissioner for Ricemils Development.

Also, Barr. Orji Uchenna Orji, Commissioner for Information and State Orientation and Ag. Commissioner for Human Capital Development and Monitoring now Commissioner for Information and State Orientation, still retain his office but stripped of Human Capital Development and Monitoring.

In same vein, Chief Emmanuel Uguru, who was the Commissioner for Environment, has been redeployed as Commissioner for Lands and Survey while Comr. Jonah Egba, Commissioner for Solid Mineral Development, has been redeployed to Environment.

Similarly, Chief Donatus Njoku, Commissioner for Commerce and Industry, is now the Commissioner for Solid Mineral Development while Mrs Mojibade Ekuma, Special Adviser, Finance now Acting Accountant General of the state.

Mr Emeka C. Nwankwo, SA on ICT now SA Finance and ICT even as Mrs. Chinyere Udoka, SA Women Affairs (Central) now SA Capital City just as Princess Francisca Okeke, SA Women Affairs (South) now SA Market Lot 1, Emeka Kenan Ofoke, SA Market now SA Market Lot 2, Chukwuma S. Ofoke, SA Housing is now SA Market Lot 3, Philip Eworo, SA Purvalization Plant, now SA Market Lot 4, Mrs. Nwakaego Nworie, Executive Assistant now SA Market Lot 5.

Others are: Dr Mrs Queen Elizabeth Agwu – Permanent Secretary Universal Basic Education Board (UBEB) now Acting Chief of Staff while Mrs. Christiana O. Ukwuta, Accountant General now Permanent Secretary UBEB and Internal Revenue Services as Moses O. Agama, Permanent Secretary Ministry of Finance and Economic Development now Permanent Secretary Ministry of Finance and Economic Development in-charge of Admin, Accounts, Salaries, Pensions and Returns.

20. Mrs Patricia Okorie – Permanent Secretary Ministry of Budget and Planning now Permanent Secretary Ministry of Finance and Economic Development in-charge of Budget, Audit, Debt Management Office (DMO) and SFTAS.

Patience Offor Okorie, SA Welfare, to Her Excellency’s Office, while Dr. Chinyere Elom, SSA Special Education/King David Academy now SSA – Special Project and Hon. Valentine Okike, SSA Housing would now serves. As SSA Shopping Mall Management.

The state government revealed that the reshuffle, dedeployment and appointment are with effect from 1st July 2020.

“All handing over and taking-over are to be completed on or before 1st July 2020”, the SSG and Coordinating Commissioner added.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here